Membership and composition of the Historic Preservation Commission is established under Montclair Code § 347-129.  The Historic Preservation Commission consists of 7 regular members and 2 alternate members.  At least one member must be from each of the following 3 classes, with no fewer than 3 members from Classes A & B.

  • Class A: a person who is knowledgeable in building design and construction or architectural history and who may reside outside the Township.
  • Class B: a person who has demonstrated a knowledge of or who has displayed an interest in local history and who may reside outside the Township..
  • Class C: a person who is a citizen of the Township, who holds no other municipal office, position or employment, and who professes an interest in local history and/or historic preservation.

Appointments to the Historic Preservation Commission are made pursuant to Montclair Code § 347-130.  Officers, including the Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson of the Historic Preservation Commission, as well as the Secretary, are elected pursuant to Montclair Code § 347-131.

 Historic Preservation Commission
 Name  Member Type  Term Expiration
 Kathleen Bennett  Class A, Chair  12/31/2018
 Jason Hyndman  Class A, Vice Chair  12/31/2021
 Stephen Rooney  Class A  12/31/2018
 Caroline Kane Levy  Class A  12/31/2020
 David Greenbaum  Class B  12/31/2020
 John Reimnitz  Class A  12/31/2021
 Jenny Gillette  Class A  12/31/2021
 VACANT  First Alternate  
 VACANT  Second Alternate  
 Graham Petto  Secretary  12/31/2018
 Janice Talley  Assistant Secretary  12/31/2018
 Ira Karasick  Attorney  12/31/2018